The North American Hairstyling Awards 2019

After the fierce competition, the winners of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) have been announced. On January 26th, 2019, the Professional Beauty Association (PBA) gave the 74 finalists the full debut of their work and declared the year’s winners. This year the event was hosted by Adam Rippon, 2018 Olympic Bronze Medalist. Brands such as  Amika, L’Oreal, Olivia Garden, and the 2018 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year winner, Danielle Keasling gave artistic presentations to help honor the event.

After the show, the event included a red carpet debut of all of the entrants and industry professionals including Tabatha Coffey, Vivienne Mackinder, Larisa Love, Christopher Dove, John Simpson, and Eric Fisher. Congratulations to all of the winners and the runners up! We look forward to seeing all of the work that these talented artists will create.

Winners of the 2019 NAHA awards include:
● Avant Garde | Michelle O’Connor | Hollywood, FL
● Editorial/Session Stylist of the Year | Dilek Onur Taylor | Chicago, IL
● Haircolor | Chrystofer Benson | South Weber, UT
● Haircutting | Lori Zabel | New York, NY
● Hairstylist of the Year | Julie Vriesinga | Forest, ON
● Makeup Artist of the Year | Florencia Taylor | London, ON
● Master Hairstylist of the Year | Silas Tsang | Ottawa, ON
● Men’s Hairstylist of the Year | Pete Goupil | Brossard, QC
● Nail Professional of the Year | Sarah Nguyen | New York, NY
● Newcomer Stylist of the Year | Jesse Ervin | Toronto, ON
● People’s Choice | Matthew Rouse | Des Moines, IA
● Salon/School Design of the Year | PENZONE Salon + Spa | Dublin, OH
● Student Hairstylist of the Year | Michell Hird | Provo, UT
● Styling and Finishing | Sarajane Maples | Atlantic Beach, FL
● Team of the Year | Ulta Beauty Pro Team | Bolingbrook, IL
● Texture | Michelle O’Connor | Hollywood, FL

About Professional Beauty Association
The Professional Beauty Association is the largest and most inclusive trade organization representing the entire beauty industry. PBA exists to elevate, unite and serve the beauty industry and the professionals who improve people’s lives. Formed by the merger of the Beauty and Barber Supply Institute (BBSI), American Beauty Association (ABA), The Salon Association (TSA), and the National Cosmetology Association (NCA), the Professional Beauty Association is the only organization to represent the entire beauty industry. Representing nearly 2,000 beauty-centric businesses, and more than 50,000 individuals, PBA members include manufacturers, distributors, salons, spas, schools, independent practitioners, students and industry suppliers. In addition to advocacy, PBA provides its members with opportunities to save money on events and education, and access to industry research and resources. Committed to the long-term success of the stylist and the businesses that employ and support them, PBA is focused on enhancing the professionalism of the industry and committed to helping members achieve personal and professional excellence. For more information on membership levels and dues please visit:

Photo Credit: All NAHA images/photos are copyright of the NAHA and PBA. All rights reserved.

Michelle O’Connor
Winner Avant Garde
Salon by In Style JCP  | Hollywood, FL
Photographer: Roberto Ligresti
Wardrobe Stylist: Nikko Kefalas
Makeup Artist: Joanne Gair
Copyright of the NAHA and PBA

Anna Pacitto
Master Hairstylist of the Year Finalist
Salon Pure  | Montreal, QC
Photographer: Ara Sassoonian
Wardrobe Stylist: Florence O Durand
Makeup Artist: Ekaterina Ulyanoff
Copyright of the NAHA and PBA

Sara Nguyen
Winner Nails
Ammon Carver Studio  | New York, NY
Photographer: Richard Monsieurs
Hair Stylist: Ammon Carver Studio
Makeup Artist: Deney Adam
Copyright of the NAHA and PBA

Ulta Beauty Pro Team
Salon Team Winners
Bolingbrook, IL
Photographer: Richard Monsieurs
Wardrobe Stylist: Julia Muller
Makeup Artist: Deney Adam
Hairstylists: Nick Stenson, Ammon Carver, Danielle Keasling, Sean Goddard, Carmody Homan & Sonya Dove
Assistants: Kate Beko, Haley Kimble, Jerwin Carlos, Leo Valencia & Tanya LangeCopyright of the NAHA and PBA